What happens when potatoes are dipped in water?

Hey friends, like always today I have come with an experiment.

This experiment is about potatoes and water. So for this you need potatoes obviously and two bowls of filled with water, 3 table spoons of salt and also a spoon to mix and stir.

Now lets get started. So 1st take your two bowls filled with water and take salt and pour it in to one of the bowls of the water. Now take your potatoes, pour into the bowls and observe what happens.

You will notice that in the salty water, the potato is floating whereas in the normal water, the potato is sinks.

So what you think why it happened? It happened because normally the density of the potato is more than water, that’s why in the plain water the potato is sinking and when we add salt in the water, the salt increases the density level of the water more than potato that makes potato float.

Thank you for reading my blog. Watch me perform this science experiment here.

Take care of your self and your family and stay blessed!

Do not forget to share, like, subscribe and also leave your comment in the below comment section.

Published by sumanasgupta

Hey dear my name is Shona and I am a growing kid from a metro political city in India apart from science I like performing magic tricks, and also playing with engineering toys. I also have hobbies like painting, clay modelling, dancing , exploring about space and our planet earth . Sometimes i also do flameless cooking and i have made recipes like bhelpuri, bread rollups, etc. I love playing with my friends especially cricket, basketball, football, cycling, catch-me-if-u-can, hide-and-seek, oonch neech ka papda,etc. And when I am indoors, i like to play blocks, orboot ,toy train, toy car, toy helicopter, watching cartoons in TV is my favorite time pass. And these days I am also learning how to blow a conch – this help me to keep my lungs stronger. I have started blogging in my post. Here I will not only share about my experiments with science but also some fun from my day to day life. Wait for my posts. Lots of love and stay blessed!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started