Orange and Candle Experiment

Today I did an experiment with a candle and an orange peel.

You will notice some fire lashes come to the other side of the candle flame. Be sure that the outside of the peel (orange color part) is facing towards the flame and you should get some very nice flashes and flares from the flame.

So what is going on? The orange peal has oil glands that contain the oil of orange peel. This oil is quite flammable. Oranges’ oil is also used as a natural insecticide and used as air fresheners. Similar citrus fruits like lemon and grapefruit also contain similar oil that can make very nice fire flashes.

Watch the video of me conducting this experiment here.

Thank you for coming in my blog. Stay safe and stay blessed. Thank you!



Published by sumanasgupta

Hey dear my name is Shona and I am a growing kid from a metro political city in India apart from science I like performing magic tricks, and also playing with engineering toys. I also have hobbies like painting, clay modelling, dancing , exploring about space and our planet earth . Sometimes i also do flameless cooking and i have made recipes like bhelpuri, bread rollups, etc. I love playing with my friends especially cricket, basketball, football, cycling, catch-me-if-u-can, hide-and-seek, oonch neech ka papda,etc. And when I am indoors, i like to play blocks, orboot ,toy train, toy car, toy helicopter, watching cartoons in TV is my favorite time pass. And these days I am also learning how to blow a conch – this help me to keep my lungs stronger. I have started blogging in my post. Here I will not only share about my experiments with science but also some fun from my day to day life. Wait for my posts. Lots of love and stay blessed!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started